Meet the governors

The governors have a common interest in early years education and want to make a positive contribution to education of the children at Batford Nursery School.

The Governing Body of Batford Nursery School comprises a member from the Local Authority, the Headteacher and one staff governor, two parent governors, and six co-opted governors.  Governors have equal rights to participate in the work of the Governing Body and to state their own views, but always work together and are bound by the collective decisions of the team.  Governors other than the Headteacher are appointed or elected to serve a four-year term of office.

Chair of Governors Pat Everett (Co-opted)
Vice Chair of Governors Georgina Wesley (Co-opted)
Other Governors Rachel Angus (Local Authority)
Laura Butler (Co-opted)
Lara Davis (Co-opted)
Phillipa Evans (Staff)
Sarah Hedges (Ex officio - Headteacher)
Stephanie Lane (Co-opted)
David Pickford (Co-opted)
Anita White (Parent)


There is currently a vacancy for a Co-opted Governor.  If you know of anyone in the community with an interest in the early years, who might like to join the governing body and has suitable skills, please do ask them to get in touch.

Contact us

To contact the governors, please use the Chair of Governors confidential email address:

What do governors do?

Governors do not manage the school – that is the role of the Headteacher.  The Governors aim to support her in doing this but do not shy away from being a ‘critical friend’ and asking searching questions.

Governors are responsible for the ensuring the clarity of vision, ethos & strategic direction of the school and for supporting the Headteacher and her staff in achieving that vision.  The governing body holds the leadership of the school to account for the educational performance of the school and its children.  Governors also have responsibility for appointing the Headteacher, managing the school’s budget and making sure that money is well spent.  In addition to these statutory responsibilities, governors monitor the impact of policies and do a wide variety of other things, either through formal committee activity or through personal involvement with the day-to-day life of the school.

The governing body may also be called upon to consider complaints from parents.

Whilst the role is a voluntary one, the Governing Body expects all governors and prospective governors to be aware of the time commitment required to be an effective governor. Primarily, that commitment arises from:

  • Attending meetings of the Governing Body (minimum of one per term)
  • Membership of either the CCC (Children, Curriculum and Communications) or Resources Committees (minimum one meeting per term)
  • Undertaking training courses relevant to the role of a governor
  • Having a particular area of responsibility such as finance, personnel, safeguarding
  • Having a link to a particular area of teaching and learning or to a school development plan priority

The Governors also attend the Annual General Meeting of Batford Day Care Ltd, representing the school which is the member of the company.

The committees 

The Resources Committee deals with everything to do with the human, physical and financial resources of the school and:

  • is responsible for proposing the annual budget for approval by the governing body and for the ongoing monitoring of management accounts. 

  • prepares the responses to the Schools Financial Value Standard questionnaire that must be submitted to Herts County Council each year.

  • considers all aspects of Health and Safety and site management.

  • approves the staffing structure and assists with some areas of recruitment.

The current members of the committee are:

   Rachel Angus (Chair)

   Sarah Hedges

   Pat Everett

   David Pickford

   Georgina Wesley

Abbreviated to CCC, this committee focuses on Children, Curriculum and Communications.

This is the forum for detailed discussion of children's progress and attainment and delivery of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage but also deals with pupil behaviour and wellbeing and stakeholder engagement. 

The current members of the committee are:

   Stephanie Lane (Chair)

   Sarah Hedges

   Pat Everett

   Anita White


Statutory information about governors

Information about governors, their terms of office, any pecuniary interests declared and a record of their attendance at meetings is published annually at the end of the academic year.

The details for 2018/19 are as follows: